running, version, win, pro, computer, click, the, network, icon, two, older, computers, are, listed, but, not, itself, however, either, both, and, under, why, doesnt, recognize, device, listing, versions, thought, was, dont, see, anymore, thanks, advance,   i am running version on my win pro computer if i click on the network icon on my win computer my two older win computers are listed but not the win computer itself however if i go to either win pro computer both win computers and the win computer are

Register    Login    Search    FAQ     Articles & downloads     Donate

Board index » Technical Forums » Home Networks




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 9:34 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1524
Location: North Central Arkansas
I am running version 1809 on my Win 10 Pro computer. If I click on the Network icon on my Win 10 computer, my two older Win 7 computers are listed but not the Win 10 computer itself.

However, if I go to either Win 7 Pro computer, both Win 7 computers and the Win 10 computer are listed under Network.

Why doesn't my Win 10 computer recognize itself as a network device on the Network listing? On older versions of Win 10, I thought it was listed, but I don't see it anymore.

Thanks in advance....

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:38 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 1804
Location: New Jersey
Apparently a change in the way Windows Explorer classifies items. My 1809 machines don't show themselves under Network. "This PC" would be where to see the PC itself, while other machines on the network will be under "Network"
-steve

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP since 2004
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:24 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1524
Location: North Central Arkansas
Thanks, Steve. What you describe is exactly what I am now seeing.

I suddenly decided to do some file sharing between computers, and I had to relearn how since Homegroup is no longer available on Win 10 computer. I got it all figured out, but that's when I noticed that my Win 10/1809 computer was not listed under Network.

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:55 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 1804
Location: New Jersey
I hadn't paid attention to that change, but confirmed it after you mentioned it. :-)

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP since 2004
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Forums » Home Networks


Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot]

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Similar topics


Jump to: