Register    Login    Search    Articles & downloads     Who We Are    Donate    Jaylach Free Sites

Board index » Technical Forums » System Recovery




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2022 10:51 am 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 2256
Location: North Central Arkansas
While waiting on my Acronis True Image DVD to arrive, I decided to use the Win 7 Backup & Restore to back up my new Asus computer running Win 10 Home. It seemed to generate a System Image OK, but the backup of my files failed. I tried several times, always getting the message shown below. Any idea what this means and how to correct it? To my knowledge, all programs were closed. Thanks in advance.
Attachment:
NoBackup.PNG
NoBackup.PNG [ 26.62 KiB | Viewed 52 times ]

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2022 3:43 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 8825
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Not really sure but the Windows backup hasn't been updated since Windows 7. It may have problems with accessing an NVME drive but, to be honest, that is a guess.

_________________
Image
Free sites from jaylach.com
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2022 3:49 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:39 am
Posts: 643
Location: Johnstown, NY
I have seen that happen when antivirus keeps you from accessing a partition.

There are a couple of older articles for that error message that talk about Avast antivirus keeping the backup from accessing that partition.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2022 5:46 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 2256
Location: North Central Arkansas
Thanks for your responses. I did find some websites that talked about different things that might cause that problem. Avast was one of them, as was Windows Defender, some 3rd party tools, etc. The articles described different things to try, such as Restart Computer, Reboot into Safe Mode, Use an Administrator Account, etc.

I tried a Restart, followed immediately by a Backup and that seemed to work.

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Forums » System Recovery


Who is online

Registered users: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Similar topics


Jump to:  

cron