Register    Login    Search    Articles & downloads     Who We Are    Donate    Jaylach Free Sites

Board index » Technical Forums » Microsoft Windows

Post Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 5:52 am 
welcoming committee

Despite running Malwarebytes Premium and Defender, it appears that my wife's computer has received an unwelcome guest that has pretty much screwed things up, and I am going to have to reset it,something I have never done before. What are the chances that her Documents, Pictures and Downloads will survive such a reset? It says you may keep your personnel files. Can you rely in that?

Post Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 10:45 am 

Sorry I can't help you there Gerry but I'm sure you'll get an answer from one of the boys shortly who will be able to tell you.

Post Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 12:42 pm 
Site Admin

When you perform a reset and choose to keep personal files, the process *should* actually keep your personal files. Programs and apps will be removed and need to be reinstalled.
https://www.wikihow.com/Reset-Windows-10

However, I recommend that you backup all of your personal files -- which everyone should be doing normally because a hard drive failure isn't going to save your files. If the data is important, back it up!

-steve

Post Posted: Sat Feb 29, 2020 7:50 pm 
Resident Geekazoid Administrator

Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Would be nice to know why it is believed that the system has become compromised as there could be another possible cause. Sorry but I just always like to know the symptoms. ;)