speaking, windows, updates, this, function, doesnt, work, second, computer, after, installing, have, two, that, wont, install, get, the, errors, shown, picture, main, machine, downstairs, theater, room, also, running, installed, these, problem, why, would, one, and, not, other, tried, update, repair, tool, but, was, big, dud, going, try, turning, off, antivirus, see, makes, difference, then, clue, whats, wrong,     speaking of windows updates this function doesn't work on my second computer after installing v i have two updates that won't install i get the errors shown in the picture my main machine downstairs in the theater room also running v installed these updates no problem why would windows updates

Register    Login    Search    FAQ     Articles & downloads     Donate

Board index » Technical Forums » Windows 8/8.1/10




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 2:08 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 1:13 pm
Posts: 394
Location: Grand Blanc, Michigan
Speaking of Windows Updates, this function doesn't work on my second computer after installing V1903. I have two updates that won't install. I get the errors shown in the picture. My main machine downstairs in the Theater Room, also running V1903, installed these updates no problem. Why would Windows Updates work on one machine and not on the other? I have tried running the Update Repair Tool but that was a big dud! I am going to try turning off my antivirus to see if that makes a difference. Other then that I have no clue what's wrong.


Attachments:
File comment: This is the error from System>Windows Updates.
Win10 Update Error.png
Win10 Update Error.png [ 28.14 KiB | Viewed 273 times ]

_________________
Terry

It just goes to show you, it's always something. If it's not one thing it's another!
_Rosanne Rosannadanna
Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 2:43 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6503
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Terry I split your post to a new topic. While both deal with updates the issues are actually quite different. I didn't want to see your issue get burried in the other. ;)

As to things being OK on one system and not another; just because two machines are running the same version of Windows does not make them the same. ;)

Go ahead and try with your AV off but also remove any removable devices that you can.

The blunt force approach would be to roll back to version 1809 and apply the 1903 update again but there is no guarantee that would solve the issue.

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:24 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:39 am
Posts: 493
Location: Johnstown, NY
I know that those two downloaded and installed separately.

You can download and install manually from here:

http://www.catalog.update.microsoft.com ... ?q=4502584

http://www.catalog.update.microsoft.com ... =KB4501375


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:01 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6503
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Thanks dvair. :) I don't know why but I never think to look up the KB article for a manual install.

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:12 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 1:13 pm
Posts: 394
Location: Grand Blanc, Michigan
dvair wrote:
I know that those two downloaded and installed separately.

You can download and install manually from here:

http://www.catalog.update.microsoft.com/Search.aspx?q=4502584

http://www.catalog.update.microsoft.com/Search.aspx?q=KB4501375

I tried to download the updates from the catalog and it failed.

Jaylach wrote:
Go ahead and try with your AV off but also remove any removable devices that you can.

The blunt force approach would be to roll back to version 1809 and apply the 1903 update again but there is no guarantee that would solve the issue.

I tried with the AV off and it was a no go. I disconnect my USB Seagate drive and try tonight. That's the only peripheral device I have. My monitor is connected via HDMI and my sound goes to my Bose via SPDIF Optical. This has me really bugged. I'll update with my results later or tomorrow.

_________________
Terry

It just goes to show you, it's always something. If it's not one thing it's another!
_Rosanne Rosannadanna


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 8:21 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6503
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
I'd go to the links that dvair offered and download and try doing the updates manually.

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 9:45 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 1:13 pm
Posts: 394
Location: Grand Blanc, Michigan
jaylach wrote:
I'd go to the links that dvair offered and download and try doing the updates manually.

Those were the same links I tried before and failed. I succeeded this time by using the Edge browser. It failed again when I tried Firefox. With Edge everything worked. I downloaded and saved the updates, then ran them separately. I have noticed that since the V1903 upgrade Firefox and Sandboxie have had some minor hiccups. Nothing that stops me from using the machine, just small inconveniences like this Windows Update thing. Hopefully after these updates the Windows Updater will work normally again. Thank you for your help.

_________________
Terry

It just goes to show you, it's always something. If it's not one thing it's another!
_Rosanne Rosannadanna


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 9:56 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6503
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
I use Firefox as my main browser and have seen no issues but I don't run Sandboxie.

It does seem strange that using Edge worked while Firefox did not as either browser would just be downloading the updates for manual install. I sort of have to guess that Sandboxie has not caught up with the 1903 build of Windows 10. That IS just a guess as I really have no idea.

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Forums » Windows 8/8.1/10


Who is online

Registered users: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Similar topics


Jump to:  

cron