Register    Login    Search    FAQ     Articles & downloads     Who We Are    Donate

Board index » Technical Forums » Microsoft Windows




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Wed May 26, 2021 4:52 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 8323
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
I will show up in Windows Updates under Optional Updates. If not there you can get it from:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10

I prefer to use the Media Creation Tool instead of doing a direct upgrade. I have not yet installed the upgrade but will as soon as I finish making USB install media and make my clone backup up to date.

_________________
Image
Free sites from jaylach.com
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Wed May 26, 2021 7:29 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 8323
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Everything went as well a could be expected. It was a long upgrade as to time, over 90 minutes. As to the time it must be acknowledged that my install media was connected via USB2, NOT USB3.

I don't see any obvious issues but did see that it changed my audio device but I use third party audio software that allows me to have audio through both my Yamaha main sound system and a headset. Ya, I have multiple audio outputs going at the same time. The way I'm setup it is just easier this way.

_________________
Image
Free sites from jaylach.com
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Wed May 26, 2021 9:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 2441
Location: New Jersey
I haven't taken the update on any of my "production" PCs yet, but I've seen updates (in the past) muck up the playback device when multiple are available.

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP 2004 - 2020
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu May 27, 2021 12:33 am 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:39 am
Posts: 606
Location: Johnstown, NY
I used the one from Windows Update, took all of two or three minutes to do the complete install as my systems were all up to date to begin with.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu May 27, 2021 2:03 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 8323
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
dvair wrote:
I used the one from Windows Update, took all of two or three minutes to do the complete install as my systems were all up to date to begin with.

Hmmm, I was also totally up to date. Might be a difference where doing the thing trough Updates just does the necessary bits and doing from media does the whole thing. :dunno:

I'll do my laptop or Surface through Updates and see what happens but I want to let my main go for a while before doing the others..

_________________
Image
Free sites from jaylach.com
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu May 27, 2021 3:48 pm 
Online
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:25 pm
Posts: 1791
Location: Pembrokeshire, South Wales, UK
I have the update sitting in both my laptops but haven't downloaded and installed it yet, I'm waiting till I've done my image backups. Fingers crossed it will be fine I've never had any problems with any of the others this far so I'm hoping all will be well this time.

_________________
Joan Archer
http://crossstitcher.webs.com
Image


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu May 27, 2021 4:17 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 8323
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
JoanA wrote:
I have the update sitting in both my laptops but haven't downloaded and installed it yet, I'm waiting till I've done my image backups. Fingers crossed it will be fine I've never had any problems with any of the others this far so I'm hoping all will be well this time.

Except for changing my audio device I had no issues and I don't run a normal audio setup as I use third party software to allow multiple audio devices.

But, yes, do your backups first as I did by making a new clone.

_________________
Image
Free sites from jaylach.com
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu May 27, 2021 4:32 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:39 am
Posts: 606
Location: Johnstown, NY
Using the media update tool does a full install, Windows Update just patches what's needed. The versions went from 19042.985 for a fully up to date 20H2 to 19043.985 for 21H1, so the change was minimal.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu May 27, 2021 5:04 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 8323
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
dvair wrote:
Using the media update tool does a full install, Windows Update just patches what's needed. The versions went from 19042.985 for a fully up to date 20H2 to 19043.985 for 21H1, so the change was minimal.

Same build here using media but that would be expected. ;)

I don't really know why I prefer to use physical media for these feature upgrades but it doesn't hurt anything as long as I don't mind it taking longer. I mean, even if something happened doing through Update I'd still have my clone to go back to. :dunno: I'll probably still do my laptop and Surface with physical media but I think that I'll do my Windows 10 virtual machine via Updates. Who knows, it just might change my mind... ;) Actually I guess I've already been doing through Windows Updates on my virtual machine as it is on the Insiders...

_________________
Image
Free sites from jaylach.com
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu May 27, 2021 11:41 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 8323
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
I think that I may be a bit ticked with the Windows 10 Insider Program. I tried to do the feature update and cannot do so on my virtual machine which is on the Insider Program. So I figured that I'd just exit the Insiders Program and try the feature update. Should be no issue but there is. When I tried I was given two choices.
  1. Do a clean install of Windows.
  2. Wait for a new version of Windows and upgrade. Problem here is that the latest Insiders build will not seem to allow the current real release so this option seems null and void. I DO see the possibility of a way out. Not going to mess with it right now but will try my physical USB media for the upgrade. Right now the build numbers just don't match between the Insiders virtual machine and my main physical system. Even if I end up doing a clean install it isn't a big deal as I have next to nothing installed but it would make me think twice before getting back in the Insiders Program.

_________________
Image
Free sites from jaylach.com
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri May 28, 2021 8:29 am 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:39 am
Posts: 606
Location: Johnstown, NY
If you are on the Dev builds of Insider (as I am) we are waaaaay ahead of the current production build. No way to go back without a clean install.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri May 28, 2021 11:21 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 2441
Location: New Jersey
As dvair said, the Insider builds are already past the feature update offered to the production build. When joining the program, I'm pretty sure that they do warn that a clean install will be needed to go back to Production level.

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP 2004 - 2020
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri May 28, 2021 4:46 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 8323
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Makes sense. I just didn' think it through... :oops:

_________________
Image
Free sites from jaylach.com
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri May 28, 2021 5:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 2441
Location: New Jersey
8-)

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP 2004 - 2020
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Forums » Microsoft Windows


Who is online

Registered users: JoanA

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Similar topics


Jump to: