Register    Login    Search    FAQ     Articles & downloads     Who We Are    Donate

Board index » Technical Forums » Microsoft Windows




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 4:01 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 2166
Location: North Central Arkansas
I'm configuring an HP 2-in-1 laptop for my sister. It came with Windows 10 in S-mode. For security reasons I'm thinking about leaving it in S-Mode, although I can then only load apps found in the Microsoft store. She wants to keep it simple....primarily use it for email and web searching.

Malwarebytes is not available in the M/S store. But is it really needed in S-Mode?

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 4:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 2415
Location: New Jersey
No, it isn't needed in s-mode. Basically, only apps available in the MS Store can be installed and run. Nothing else can execute, so it is incredibly safe from malware.

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP 2004 - 2020
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 4:26 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 2166
Location: North Central Arkansas
That's what I thought.......thanks, Steve.

I help her a lot with her computers......she lives in GA and I live in AR. So we use TeamViewer, which thankfully is in the M/S store.

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 9:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 2415
Location: New Jersey
You are very welcome. Great that you are able to continue to provide help with Team Viewer on Windows S-mode!

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP 2004 - 2020
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 9:41 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 2166
Location: North Central Arkansas
Team Viewer has been a real asset to me in being able to help her. Sure beats trying to give her direction over the phone.

Now, I haven't yet tried Team Viewer on her laptop....that's a project for tomorrow. I just noticed that it is available free on M/S store.

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 10:27 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 2166
Location: North Central Arkansas
Steve, I'm trying to disable the login password on the s-mode laptop. Normally I just do the netplwiz thing and uncheck the box that says 'User must enter a user name and password to use this computer'. But I don't see that box.

Is disabling the login password not an option in s-mode?

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 10:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 2415
Location: New Jersey
I have never used a machine with Windows S-mode, but based on my understanding of the design goals for Windows S-mode (security, security, security), I am fairly certain that you will need to use a password or PIN (or Windows Hello - fingerprint or camera). I found one short thread on Answers from 2019 and someone reported trying the method you used without success. There is no solution posted to that question.
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-hello/how-to-automatically-logon-windows-10-in-s-mode/c3a178a6-b576-481a-acbc-f4505a99df06

-steve

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP 2004 - 2020
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2021 11:15 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 8268
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
No promises but you might try going to Accounts and selecting to change the password. Just leave the new password fields empty. This has worked in the past but I don't know if it still will.

_________________
Image
Free sites from jaylach.com
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 11, 2021 9:49 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 2166
Location: North Central Arkansas
@Steve - I installed Team Viewer on my sister's HP 2-in-1 laptop only to find out that it works only one way. She can access my desktop computer using TV, but I can't access her laptop. The S-mode is not about to let me control her computer.

I never thought of that, so I have now uninstalled TV on her laptop.

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 12, 2021 11:51 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 2415
Location: New Jersey
Unfortunate that Team Viewer doesn't appear to be useful to you on Windows S Mode. You can use the built-in Quick Assist feature of Windows 10 -- https://www.computerworld.com/article/3124640/how-to-use-windows-10s-quick-assist-app-for-remote-pc-support.html

-steve

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP 2004 - 2020
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 12, 2021 12:19 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 2166
Location: North Central Arkansas
Thanks, Steve. I've never used Quick Assist nor had I ever heard of it. I was so pleased with Team Viewer that it was all I ever used.

I see that Quick Assist is on my desktop and her laptop, so I will give it a try. I'm keeping her laptop pretty simple, so she may never need my help remotely. But it never hurts to have a way.......

Obviously I don't understand all the safeguards that S-mode has in place. It won't let me access her laptop remotely with Team Viewer, but it will with Quick Assist.

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 12, 2021 12:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 2415
Location: New Jersey
I would imagine that Quick Assist allows the connection because it is actually included with Windows 10. The limitation on a 3rd party product is to maintain the super secure environment. I'm not a Team Viewer user, so I don't know if there is a solution to allow you to connect to the S mode machine, but would imagine that even if you were able to connect, you would not be able to make changes to her PC.

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP 2004 - 2020
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 12, 2021 12:30 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 2166
Location: North Central Arkansas
You are probably right, so I am definitely going to try Quick Assist. That was a very good Computer World article you sent me.

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2021 3:36 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 2166
Location: North Central Arkansas
Steve, I tried Quick Assist between her laptop and my desktop computer....it worked great. Thanks for putting me on to it.

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2021 8:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 2415
Location: New Jersey
You are very welcome and glad that it worked out for you!

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP 2004 - 2020
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Forums » Microsoft Windows


Who is online

Registered users: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Similar topics


Jump to:  

cron