Register    Login    Search    FAQ     Articles & downloads     Donate

Board index » Technical Forums » Security




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Mon May 29, 2017 9:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1503
Location: North Central Arkansas
Using VirtualBox, I currently run XP Pro SP3 as a guest on my Win 10 Pro computer. Jay helped me set this up last year, and recently he walked me through a VB update fix after I upgraded my Win 10 to the Creators Build (1703).

Following the recent ransomware attacks, Microsoft released a security patch (KB4012598) for XP users. Am I correct in assuming that I should install this patch in my VM XP Pro? Will it be like a normal security patch installation, i.e., is there anything different because my XP is a VM?

Thanks in advance.........

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Mon May 29, 2017 9:29 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6319
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
If MS put an update out for XP I would imagine that it would be considered to be critical. This update is designed to combat the WannaCry ransomware. I would allow the update.

There have been reports of the update putting up a dialog saying that it is not for the version of Windows being run in some cases. I would apply the patch and report if it fails.

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Mon May 29, 2017 9:51 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1503
Location: North Central Arkansas
Thanks, Jay. When I just tried to download the update, I got an error message that IE8 couldn't connect to the internet. The connection diagnostic said it might be a firewall issue. For security reasons, I don't normally connect to the internet from within the VM XP Pro, so I don't remember ever encountering this error before.

I'm just too tired now to seek solutions, so will try again in the morning when my mind is fresh (or as fresh as it will ever be, lol).

I assume I should also install the update on my old Win 7 Ultimate computer that runs VM XP Mode?

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Mon May 29, 2017 10:05 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6319
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
I would think that, if your XP installs are not allowed to go internet, you would be fine. Still the fact that you got the update notification implies that the system DOES have, at least, partial connection.

I would see about downloading the update on another system and porting to the XP VM's.

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Mon May 29, 2017 11:51 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 5:52 pm
Posts: 970
Frankly unless you connect to an internal network as in a business, and unless you have no firewall on that box I wouldn't worry about it.
You can also disable the SMBv1 connection and that will secure it.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue May 30, 2017 9:08 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1503
Location: North Central Arkansas
jaylach wrote:
I would think that, if your XP installs are not allowed to go internet, you would be fine. Still the fact that you got the update notification implies that the system DOES have, at least, partial connection.
Actually, I didn't receive the update notification on the VM....I had to seek it out after reading about it in the newspaper.

I would see about downloading the update on another system and porting to the XP VM's.
I was thinking about doing that as perhaps the easiest solution, just to be on the safe side. Thanks for confirming.

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue May 30, 2017 9:22 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1503
Location: North Central Arkansas
Peter2150 wrote:
Frankly unless you connect to an internal network as in a business, and unless you have no firewall on that box I wouldn't worry about it.
You can also disable the SMBv1 connection and that will secure it.

Pete, I do use a firewall on my VM XP Pro. And I don't know what an SMBv1 connection is, much less how to disable it. Any clues/advice? Thanks....

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue May 30, 2017 12:59 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 5:52 pm
Posts: 970
bbarry wrote:
Peter2150 wrote:
Frankly unless you connect to an internal network as in a business, and unless you have no firewall on that box I wouldn't worry about it.
You can also disable the SMBv1 connection and that will secure it.

Pete, I do use a firewall on my VM XP Pro. And I don't know what an SMBv1 connection is, much less how to disable it. Any clues/advice? Thanks....


Go to the control panel , then Programs and Features. Off to the left you will see something like turn on/off Windows Features, or it may just be windows features. Click on that and give it time to populate. Then scroll down and see if you see anything with SMBv1 there. If so disable it. If not don't worry.

What firewall.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue May 30, 2017 2:39 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1503
Location: North Central Arkansas
Thanks, Pete. As regards SMB, this is what I see:
- SMB Direct (box unchecked)
- SMB 1.0/CIFS File Sharing Support (box checked)
So should I change either/both of these. or just leave them as they are?

I use the Windows Firewall.

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue May 30, 2017 8:12 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 5:52 pm
Posts: 970
I would uncheck both of them unless you file share from VM to host. And if you do that uncheck it and just check it when you need it.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue May 30, 2017 9:12 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1503
Location: North Central Arkansas
jaylach wrote:
I would see about downloading the update on another system and porting to the XP VM's.

Well, that's exactly what I did, using a little flash drive. Immediately the update was successfully installed on my old Win 7 Pro computer running XP Mode. :D

However, on my newer Win 10 Pro computer running VM XP Pro under VirtualBox, I had to first use Pete's old trick of restarting my computer to get rid of all the cobwebs (this computer stays on almost 24/7). Then the remaining install went without a hitch. :D

So I thank everyone for their help. I do have one last question.....in Windows XP, how do you check to see what updates have been installed? I can't remember, and I couldn't find any update history. I was just trying to double-check to make sure the security patch got installed. :?

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue May 30, 2017 9:16 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1503
Location: North Central Arkansas
Peter2150 wrote:
I would uncheck both of them unless you file share from VM to host. And if you do that uncheck it and just check it when you need it.

Thanks Pete. I do file share from VM XP Pro to my Win 10 host, so I think I will just leave the settings as they are. As reported above, I did finally get the security patch installed in both VMs.

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Tue May 30, 2017 9:39 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6319
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
bbarry wrote:
I do have one last question.....in Windows XP, how do you check to see what updates have been installed?

I don't currently have an install of XP at all so can't be exact... Let's see how memory serves.

Go to the Windows Update page and click on 'View installation history'. I believe that it also shows in 'Add or remove programs'.

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 9:17 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 12:47 am
Posts: 1503
Location: North Central Arkansas
Jay, if I click on Windows Update, I get an error message that says can not find '(null)'. And I can't see it listed in Add or Remove Programs.

So I'm not going to worry about it. I received notice that the security patch was installed, so I will just take M/S at their word.

Thanks anyway......

_________________
BB
http://barrypatch.net


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Forums » Security


Who is online

Registered users: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Similar topics


Jump to:  

cron