Register    Login    Search    FAQ     Articles & downloads     Who We Are    Donate

Board index » Technical Forums » Internet Browsers And Email




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Sat May 29, 2021 10:40 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 8418
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
For normal browsing I use Firefox but use Edge for my streaming services The services include Major League Baseball, NFL, Netflix, Spectrum Streaming and Prime Video. These five are each in a tab and, combined tabs, are my Edge Home Page on startup.

Since the May 2021 Windows Feature Update I notice that Edge will no longer open with these tabs in place. Before the Feature Update there was no issue. I've tried totally re-doing the Home Page setting and it still will not open but there is no problem if I copy/paste the URLs. Any ideas :?: :dunno:

_________________
Image
Free sites from jaylach.com
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sat May 29, 2021 10:52 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:39 am
Posts: 614
Location: Johnstown, NY
Have all your tabs open that you want on startup, then go into settings > On Start Up > set to all currently open tabs.

Not sure if this will give you what you want, but its worth a shot.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sat May 29, 2021 10:56 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 8418
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
dvair wrote:
Have all your tabs open that you want on startup, then go into settings > On Start Up > set to all currently open tabs.

Not sure if this will give you what you want, but its worth a shot.

Already tried that David. I even went so far as to delete all in settings and then add. Just on a whim I also tried running as an admin.

I also notice that I have no Home icon. Wasn't there one before?

<edit>
Just thought that I should add that I do not have this home page issue with Firefox.

I don't believe that I have updated my clone backup which was made right before doing the Feature Update. Streaming a show right now but I think that I will, later, boot to the clone drive and check. If I suddenly have the issue with the clone that would rule out it being caused by the Feature Update.

_________________
Image
Free sites from jaylach.com
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun May 30, 2021 8:29 am 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:39 am
Posts: 614
Location: Johnstown, NY
Settings > Appearance > Show Home Button


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun May 30, 2021 10:34 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 2481
Location: New Jersey
Apparently there are some bugs related to the Startup settings in the latest Edge version reported by some.
I can't find the original article I read about Edge Startup Page/Tabs the other day, but here's one report of it -- https://www.tenforums.com/browsers-email/180220-ms-edge-startup-page-cannot-changed-after-21h1.html
I've not read about the missing Home button, though.

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP 2004 - 2020
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun May 30, 2021 12:12 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 8418
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Thanks for the input David and Steve. :)

Of course now I'm totally befuddled as Edge is back to working properly today. :dunno:

_________________
Image
Free sites from jaylach.com
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun May 30, 2021 1:07 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 2481
Location: New Jersey
jaylach wrote:
Of course now I'm totally befuddled as Edge is back to working properly today. :dunno:


:roll:

Ah, the mysteries... ;-)

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP 2004 - 2020
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sun May 30, 2021 2:04 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 8418
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
The system is on 24/7 so I suppose it is possible that Edge updated over night...

_________________
Image
Free sites from jaylach.com
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » Technical Forums » Internet Browsers And Email


Who is online

Registered users: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Similar topics


Jump to:  

cron