jaylach, wrote, point, taken, doddie, please, continue, correct, any, area, that, you, feel, missing, something, hope, not, coming, across, like, trying, teach, anything, know, far, more, than, ive, forgotten, said, struggling, get, head, around, why, anyone, would, share, their, isp, connection, with, todays, environment, the, good, intentions, and, all, but, still, makes, sense, this, day, age, fwiw, disappear, consider, everyone, else, here, your, backup, well, confirm, existed,     jaylach wrote point taken doddie please continue to correct me in any area that you feel i'm missing something i hope i'm not coming across like i'm trying to teach you anything you know far more than i've forgotten that said i'm struggling to get my head around why anyone

Register    Login    Search    FAQ     Articles & downloads     Donate

Board index » Technical Forums » Home Networks




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 5:31 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee

Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 4:13 pm
Posts: 663
jaylach wrote:
Point taken Doddie. :)
...
Please continue to correct me in any area that you feel I'm missing something.


I hope I'm not coming across like I'm trying to teach you anything, you know far more than I've forgotten!

That said, I'm struggling to get my head around why anyone would share their ISP connection with anyone in todays environment...I get the good intentions and all that but it still makes no sense to me why in this day and age.

Fwiw, if you disappear, consider me and everyone else here as your backup... we'll confirm you existed :rofl2:


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 5:39 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6503
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Doddie wrote:
That said, I'm struggling to get my head around why anyone would share their ISP connection with anyone in todays environment...I get the good intentions and all that but it still makes no sense to me why when in this day and age.

Well one reason is that he is a good friend that is also retired but with less funds than myself.

Another reason is that I am also retired and on a fixed income. While in no way hurting every saving helps. We split the cost of my internet.

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:46 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 1847
Location: New Jersey
There is always a risk with WiFi, even if it weren't shared with the neighbor.
Protecting the Windows Shares is completely acceptable for the scenario Jay is currently using and will continue to use. The WiFi is secured -- layer 1. The network Shares are secured - layer 2. The operating system has a functional firewall - layer 3. The PCs are running antivirus/antimalware - layer 4. Jay does backups religiously - layer 5.
No worries. :-)
-steve

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP since 2004
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:42 am 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6503
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Thanks for the reassurance Steve. :)

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 5:03 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6503
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
New router showed up today and was an easy setup, took about 20-25 minutes total.

My wired network speed on a test transfer of ~4.3 GB, 25 files, peaked at 71 MB/sec. A heck of a lot better than my old 10-20 Mb/sec. :) I guess I was right that my cables are CAT5e, not CAT5, I wasn't positive.

The wireless to my laptop for internet jumped from an average of 12 Mb/sec to about 31 Mb/sec. Wired I get the same 66 Mb/sec I've always had. Since I haven't yet done my drive sharing to the laptop that test remains to be done.

Not really sure if I should have done so but it has an otption to reboot itself on a schedule. Supposed to help prevent issues such as wireless dropping I guess. I figured, since I reboot my main system now and then even though pretty much on 24/7, why not do the same with the router. I set it to reboot once a week at 4:30 AM Sunday mornings. Even if doing an all-nighter watching movies it is not likely that I will be using the net at that time. ;)

I didn't plan on installing the software for the USB (Belkin USB Print and Storage Center) but got a failed USB device in Device Manager until I did. Still, who knows? I DO have a 4 TB NAS drive that I could throw in an enclosure. Right now it lives in a dock with three partitions for external images. I could connect it to the router's USB and do my images through the network.

I did setup a guest account but not for my neighbor. That will be for visitors if needed.

It is dual band with the normal 2.4 Ghz. and, also, a 5 Ghz. band designed for streaming media. It also includes a media server. Since my systems are already networked I don't really see a need. If I'm watching a movie or listening to music it probably won't be on my tablet. ;) Still I may. I mean the server is already active just configured. The only software install would be on my tablet.

<edit>
Cancel the media server. It is a DNLA server and needs the media to be on a souce connected to the router's USB. I just disabled the server.

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:58 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6503
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Just as an add-on to the above I just did some searching and solved a curiosity on my Arris cable modem from Spectrum.

With the old router the activity light always flashed orange. With the new it flashes green. I just always thought that the orange was normal as I had no issues. Turns out that the orange indicates a 'speed drop'. My old router is 10/100 while the new is 10/100/1000. The 10/100 could not handle the full speed output of the modem while the 10/100/1000 can.

Actually that brings up a second question. If the old router can not handle the full speed of the modem why do I get the same wired router internet connection speed of ~66 Mb/sec with either router? I figure one of two possibilities.

1) Speedtest.net is seeing the modem connection only, leaving out the actual computer.

2) It is a matter of throughput. Throughput is different than speed. Just as an example let's say there are two systems. One shows a speed of 100 Mb/sec while the other shows a speed of 80 Mb/sec. If the 80 Mb/sec has a higher throughput than the 100 Mb/sec it is quite possible that the 80 Mb/sec would perform better. That is one of the reasons that a Xenon processor tends to be better for servers than an I7. Most likely the Xenon will have a higher throughput even though the I7 is faster. In the case of a server it is throughput that matters. No, this does not mean that you should use a Xenon in a normal system. In a normal system the faster I7 will serve you better than the Xenon. The Xenon just excels in passing data.

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:54 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 1847
Location: New Jersey
Your external speed is the Speedtest result and is a factor of measuring traffic from the modem to the test server through the ISPs cabling.
The flashing green light vs. the orange light means that your internal network is Gigabit to the router. Your ISP is giving you 66 Megabits. If they gave you 200 Megabits, your old router would have been a limiting factor as the modem supports Gigabit...
To complicate matters, Speedtest is actually also measuring your internal network latency and PC capabilities -- neither of which are limiting the speeds as your ISP is maxing out at 66 megabits...

-steve

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP since 2004
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:03 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6503
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
Thanks Steve. :)

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:09 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:37 am
Posts: 422
Try this speed test for Ha Ha's
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest

_________________
To all current duty personnel and veterans
of the American armed forces.
Thank You


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:21 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6503
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
chasbox wrote:
Try this speed test for Ha Ha's
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest

Not really sure what I was supposed to see... I don't understand the "Ha Ha's" as the results were not all that different. Slightly higher as to download with your link and higher with speedtest.net as to upload but no drastic differences...
Image

Image

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:27 pm 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:37 am
Posts: 422
Some on the Comcast forums say that this speed test is a little more accurate
Ha Ha's just means for fun

_________________
To all current duty personnel and veterans
of the American armed forces.
Thank You


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 9:51 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6503
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
chasbox wrote:
Some on the Comcast forums say that this speed test is a little more accurate
Ha Ha's just means for fun

Hmmm, of course results can be affected by system setup but I think that speedtest.net is more accurate. This is just based on transfer rate reports via Filezilla which is my FTP client. Then again FTP is a bit different than regular internet access. ;)

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 1847
Location: New Jersey
Image

I'm actually quite impressed with the offering of my ISP. I can go up another tier to 300 Mbits for $35 per month more, but I don't plan to for now.

_________________
stephen boots
Microsoft MVP since 2004
"Life's always an adventure with computers!"


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 10:50 pm 
Offline
Resident Geekazoid Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:09 am
Posts: 6503
Location: The state of confusion; I just use Wyoming for mail.
sboots wrote:
Image

I'm actually quite impressed with the offering of my ISP. I can go up another tier to 300 Mbits for $35 per month more, but I don't plan to for now.

LOL! Dang Steve... Once upon a time I USED to actually like you. :mrgreen:

Sigh, and I remember the days when I was uploading web sites using a dialup connection... ;)

_________________
Image
Jaylach's Free Sites
I NEVER forget... I just remember late.

ImageImage


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Possible routers
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:50 am 
Offline
welcoming committee
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:37 am
Posts: 422
What ever works for you. Just as long as you're at least getting the speed you pay for.
I get 120/6 with DSL ,Speedtest and Comcast speed tests or very close.
That's what I pay for 120/6.

Nice numbers Steve

_________________
To all current duty personnel and veterans
of the American armed forces.
Thank You


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Board index » Technical Forums » Home Networks


Who is online

Registered users: No registered users

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

Similar topics

How Routers Work
Forum: What Is...?
Author: MacDuffie
Replies: 0


Jump to:  

cron